Board of Managers
A collective management body of the RREC is its Board of Managers. The Board consists of eight members representing different sectors of the society: two representatives of state authorities of the Russian Federation, two representatives of foreign organisations, two representatives of Russian non-governmental organisations, a representative each from the business community and the scientific community. At its regular meetings the Board takes decisions relating to the current activities and strategic development of the Centre. The Board consisting of distinguished persons and highly qualified specialists in different fields and concerned with the environmental issues is capable to function as a flexible and non-bureaucratic body and take profound and non-standard decisions.

List of Members of the RREC Board of Managers

1. Erik van Dorst
Senior Policy adviser in Political Issues Ministry of Construction, Spatial Planning and The Environment of the Netherlands

2. Elena M. Klyuchnikova
Apatity Division of Kola Coordination Environmental Centre « Gea » , Apatity Environmental Centre, Director

3. Vyacheslav V. Kopyev Deputy Chairman of Joint-Stock Financial Corporation «Systema»

4. Alexander A. Pankin
Deputy Director of the Department of International Organisations, RF Ministry of Foreign Affairs

5. Mikhail M. Prusak
Governor of Novgorod Oblast Chairman of the RREC Board of Managers

6. Claude Rouam
Head of Unit for EU Enlargement and Neighbouring Countries, European Commission

7. Natalia P. Tarasova
Director of the Institute for Problems of Sustainable Development, D.I.Mendeleyev Chemical Technology University , Corresponding Member of the Russia Academy of Sciences

8. Marina A. Fomenko
Centre for Support of Local Initiatives for Sustainable Development and Environmental Safety, City of Yaroslavl

Advisory Council

The Advisory Council is a consulting body of the Centre that integrates opinions of different territories of Russia and various sectors of the society to a maximum possible extent.

The Advisory Council consists of 20 to 30 representatives of state authorities of the RF (not more than 30% of the Council's members), foreign legal entities and individuals (not more than 30% of the Council's members), representatives of the scientific and business communities (not more than 20% of the Council's members), and representatives of non-governmental organisations (not more than 20% of the Council's members).

In addition to the annual general meetings, an effective type of activities is meetings of sections and working groups of the Advisory Council, which are held both on special occasions and on a permanent basis and deal with issues of the current and future activities of the RREC. In general, not only members of the Advisory Council participate in such meetings, but also leading specialists in a respective field. During the reported period Advisory Council groups met to discuss issues of education for sustainable development, grant programme, development of the RREC strategy, RREC goals and principles, search for new fields of activities and further actions in renewable energy and energy efficiency.

The Advisory Council is chaired by Alexander N. Kosarikov, Deputy Chairman of the RF State Duma Environmental Committee. In accordance with the RREC Statute, members of the Advisory Council are rotated on a regular basis and it will continue its activities in 2006 in a new composition.